History of AIA Mid-Missouri

Charter for AIA Mid-Missouri,
dated Dec. 5, 1970 and listing
the names of fourteen charter
members.  (click to enlarge)

The Mid-Missouri chapter of the American Institute of Architects was chartered in late 1970, largely due to the efforts of Seth Evans and Jim Darrough.  Seth chaired a committee that jumped through all the hoops necessary to carve out a new chapter to serve the growing number of architects in the center of the state.  Until that time, there were three chapters in Missouri:  St. Louis, Kansas City, and Springfield.  Most of what is now Mid-Missouri fell in the St. Louis chapter.

In October of 1970, in preparation for the chartering of this new chapter, a meeting was held to draft by-laws, elect officers, and
to establish chapter boundaries.  These boundaries were drawn to include 21 counties in central Missouri, from Randolph and Monroe counties in the north, to Pulaski and Phelps in the south, and from Montgomery and Gasconade counties in the east to Saline, Pettis and Benton in the west.  This large area includes not only the cities of Columbia, Jefferson City and Sedalia, but also the Lake of the Ozarks area, Rolla, and Moberly.

At the January 1971 Missouri Council of Architects (MCA) board meeting, the Mid-Missouri Chapter of AIA's first president, Seth Evans, reported that the chapter had been successfully incorporated with 14 charter members on December 5, 1970, and that the presentation of the official charter would be made at a meeting following the MCA board meeting.  A picture of the charter members present was taken at that first official chapter meeting at the Holiday Inn in Jefferson City.

Photo of charter members at first official chapter meeting.
Back row:  Burl Sammons, Arthur Jablonsky, William Cragin,
Kay Cleavenger, Donald Buller and Dale Watson.
Seated in front:  Roy Pallardy, Seth Evans, Wynn Brady and Jim Darrough.
Not pictured:  John Paulus, RC Dragoo, Dave Clark and John Cooper.
(click to enlarge)