Honors and Awards

Distinguished Citizen Award

AIA Mid-Missouri presents it's Distinguished Citizen award in even-numbered years.  This is an honor bestowed on a local citizen from the mid-Missouri community who exemplifies the values and purposefully promotes the efforts of design professionals to maintain, protect and augment the fabric of the built environment.  Any member of AIA Mid-Missouri may nominate any non-architect for this award.

The 2018 Distinguished Citizen Award was presented to John Simon, Building Regulations Supervisor for the City of Columbia.  Mr. Simon has held a lifelong passion for the natural and built environment.  His award recognizes his efforts to educate, collaborate with and support local design professionals as they preserve and develop the fabric of the city.

Previous Distinguished Citizen Award Recipients

The 2016 recipient of our Distinguished Citizen Award was Jim Crabtree, Vice President of Corporate Physical Assets for Central Bancompany, whose work has sought to maintain the high standards for the built environment and quality of life for staff and patrons alike.  As noted in his nomination letter, “Over time, Jim Crabtree has become synonymous with his employer’s appreciation for architectural advocacy.”  He is 2016's Champion of the Built Environment.

The 2014 recipient of our Distinguished Citizen award was Barbara Buffaloe who, as a member of city government, was honored for her enthusiasm and personal commitment to sustainable design and promoting responsible architecture within our community.

Design Awards

AIA Mid-Missouri bestows Design Awards in each odd-numbered year. The Design Awards program recognizes excellence in design, planning, and construction of projects located anywhere in the world that are designed by AIA Mid-Missouri architects, or projects of merit designed by others but located within the area of our Chapter.

The intent of the Design Awards program is to honor the highest standards of design in response to user requirements, site, context, climate, and environmental considerations.  Each entry, regardless of size or classification, is judged individually on the basis of total design merit.

Awards are ranked as Honor Award, Merit Award, and Honorable Mention (in order of importance).  The jury decides the number of awards to be presented.  Certificates are presented to award winners, and their projects are featured at the annual Architecture Awards Celebration.

In 2017 we were pleased to present four awards to outstanding projects by Mid-Missouri architects and/or located in central Missouri.  Our awards jury was made up of members of the Eastern Ohio Chapter of AIA, a chapter similar in size and makeup to AIA Mid-Missouri.  The jury commented, "The jury found the vast range of project types to be very impressive . . . and recognize all the submitters for their dedication to the advancement of the architecture within their region."

The 2017 award winning designs were:
(click on each link for more information)

Swallow Hall Renovation & Reconstruction, University of Missouri, Columbia, Missouri
Honor Award

Phi Gamma Delta Fraternity House, Bloomington, Indiana
Merit Award

"The Linc" - Lincoln University Wellness & City Parks Multipurpose Recreation Center, Jefferson City, Missouri
Honorable Mention

Randolph County Courthouse, Huntsville, Missouri
Honorable Mention

Have a look at winning entries from 2015.